This past weekend I went out in the cold and rain in search of the perfect tacky Christmas sweater to pair with my tacky Christmas sweater skirt. My friends were throwing a Christmas party, and I wanted to be extra tacky for the occasion. My first pick of thrift stores in Homewood has always the Salvation Army on Greensprings Highway – until now. Upon pulling into the parking lot it was clear that the store had been abandoned. Not a car was in sight, the lights were off and a paper on the door announced that the store had closed. There was no warning or explanation, and the website still lists it as open. Needless to say, I was pretty upset that the store had closed, I’d always had good luck there in the past. I’m still waiting for an explanation from the Salvation Army of Birmingham, hopefully one comes soon.

